This story is over 5 years old.


Stream “Peak Magnetic,” the Lead Single from Clark’s New Album, ‘Death Peak’

‘Death Peak’ drops April 7 on Warp Records.
Photo of Clark by Tim Saccenti.

Warp Records mainstay Clark returns this spring with a new album, Death Peak, scheduled to drop on April 7. Last week, the producer released "Peak Magnetic," the first single from the new full-length.

"I've had the title Death Peak since August 2016. It felt so right, I would repeat it to myself like a mantra. Death Peak Death Peak Death Peak," the producer said. "It starts gently, all meadows and butterflies and ends with you on top of this gnarly fearsome mountain peak, surveying a shattered landscape below."

That gentleness can be heard on lead single "Peak Magnetic." The bright and airy track sounds imbued with the early morning soundscapes heard after a long night out.

"I wanted the kick to sound like some massive natural event, barely controlled, a boulder bouncing down a hill with birds tweeting around it," Clark said about the track. "A complete mud-ball of a pulse that anchors everything to it through sheer mass. It makes me think of outdoor spring time raving."

Listen to "Peak Magnetic" below. In 2016, we spoke with the Berlin-based producer about his favorite cinema gems for our ongoing Crate Expectations column.

Death Peak tracklist:
1. Spring But Dark
2. Butterfly Prowler
3. Peak Magnetic
4. Hoova
5. Slap Drones
6. Aftermath
7. Catastrophe Anthem
8. Living Fantasy
9. Un U.K.