Deadmau5 Shares Mini-Mix of New Album

Earlier this month, he said about the LP: "I don't even like it."
November 28, 2016, 4:59pm
Photo courtesy of Kata Rokkar/Flickr

Canadian producer deadmau5 shared a mini-mix of his forthcoming LP W:/2016ALBUM/ on Friday, due out on his own mau5trap imprint in December. Alongside a series of unidentified album tracks, it features snippets of previously released singles such as "4ware," "Snowcone," and the Grabbitz collaboration "Let's Go." Listen to it below.

According to the producer, real name Joel Zimmerman, the track "No Problemo" is "reminiscent of Tom Waits," and "Imaginary Friends" is inspired by eSports. The album cut "2448" was made the Toronto Maple Leafs hockey team's new anthem in October.


Fans are certainly excited about W:/2016ALBUM/, but Zimmerman took to Twitter recently to say he wasn't that crazy about the album himself.

i don't even like it. it was like… so fucking rushed / slapped together. but i mean… hey, if you like it i wanna like it too, just dont.

— dead mow cinco (@deadmau5)November 20, 2016

It's well known that Zimmerman doesn't mind being in a feud, that he can also be a sweet guy: earlier this month he donated a shopping cart full of gifts to a Toys for Tots drive in Oakville, Ontario.

The LP will be released on December 2, and is currently available for pre-order.

W:/2016Album tracklist:

1. 4ware
2. 2448
3. Cat Thruster
4. Deus Ex Machina
5. Gish
6. Imaginary Friends
7. Let Go (feat. Grabbitz)
8. No Problem
9. Snowcone
10. Three Pound Chicken Wing
11. Whelk Then

Follow Alexander on Twitter.