This story is over 5 years old.


Flying Lotus, Bonobo, and More Will Appear on a 'Star Wars' Comp Curated by Rick Rubin

'Star Wars Headspace' is set for release on February 19.
Photo courtesy of Hollywood Records

A few months after Star Wars'__ imperial march back into public consciousness on the strength of The Force Awakens, Rick Rubin—who's acting as a sage, Yoda-like figure these days—has announced a new compilation inspired by (and sourced from) the sci-fi series, due out in a couple of weeks. The compilation, Star Wars Headspace, is set to feature the best sort of futurists who you'd expect to be involved in a project themed around a galaxy far, far away.


Flying Lotus, Shlohmo, Rustie, Baauer, Bonobo, and more have all crafted tracks that feature sounds drawn from the Star Wars universe, and if the whole enterprise sounds a little kitschy, the Brainfeeder boss himself took to Apple Music's Beats 1 station today to demonstrate proof of concept. FlyLo dropped off his contribution to the comp "R2 Where R U?," which barrel-rolls and warps with the best of his roiling output, and demonstrates a return to the sort of wobbly beats he hasn't made since the Pattern + Grid World EP.

Baauer also offered his track, the Darth Vader-sampling "Cantina Boys," which is as dizzy and doom-laden as any of his recent compositions. Listen to both below and check out Star Wars Headspace's full track list, which includes a number of oddball inclusions (like Kaskade!) and a Rubin and A-Trak collaborative remix of Lin-Manuel Miranda's Cantina Song for The Force Awakens. It's bound to be interesting, if nothing else.

Star Wars Headspace track list:

1. Kaskade, "C-3P0's Plight"
2. GTA, "Help Me!"
3. TroyBoi, "Force"
4. Baauer, "Cantina Boys"
5. Shag Kava, "Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work" [ft. A-Trak]
6. Claude VonStroke, "R2 Knows" [ft. Barry Drift]
7. Rick Rubin, "NR-G7"
8. Bonobo, "Ghomrassen"
9. Röyksopp, "Bounty Hunters"
10. ATTLAS, "Sunset Over Manaan"
11. Flying Lotus, "R2 Where R U?"
12. Shlohmo, "Druid Caravan of Smoke"
13. Rustie, "EWOK PUMPP"
14. Galantis, "Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder"
15. Breakbot, "Star Tripper"

Star Wars Headspace is out February 19 digitally and March 18 physically on Hollywood Records/American Recordings.