This story is over 5 years old.


There's a New Compilation of French Retro Psychedelic Electronic Music Coming Our Way

'Cosmic Music, the Sequel' is the follow-up to 2013's 'Cosmic Music: A Voyage Through French Cosmic & Electronic Avantgarde'.

Image courtesy of Because Music

In 2013, the Parisian label Because Music released the retro compilation Cosmic Machine: A Voyage Through French Cosmic & Electronic Avantgarde. Now the label has announced a follow-up: Cosmic Music, The Sequel.

Resident Advisor reports that The Sequel spans 22 tracks that highlight French electronic music from the 60s through the 80s. It was compiled by French vinyl collector Olivier Carrié, AKA Uncle O.

Included on the compilation are composer Roger Roger, whose LP Pop Electronique was among the first albums in the world to feature the Moog synthesizer, and Anarchic System whose hazy lo-fi electro-pop tunes forsaged the work of musicians like Ariel Pink. Listen to it below the tracklist for the album, which is out on May 20.

1. Pascal Comelade - "Mouvement Décomposé D'un Coup De Marteau"
2. Stereo - "Moonshine"
3. Francis Lai - "Young Freedom"
4. Rosebud - "Main Theme From More"
5. Queen Samantha - "Take A Chance"
6. Nicolas Peyrac - "Rite"
7. Heldon - "Les Soucoupes Volantes Vertes"
8. Roger Roger - "Vadrouillard"
9. Arpadys - "Monkey Star"
10. Video Liszt - 'Fade In Hong Kong"
11. Pierre Porte - "Love Is all"
12. Richard Pinhas - "Ruitor"
13. Christophe - "Harp Odyssey"
14. Grand Prix - "Grand Prix"
15. The Peppers - "Pepper Box"
16. Joel Fajerman & Jan Yrssen - "Asteroide"
17. Moon Birds - "Cristal N°3"
18. Araxis - "Thème D'Araxis"
19. Anarchic System - "Pop Corn"
20. Georges Rodi - "Indian Love Melody"
21. Michel Magne - "Signaux Codes Non Identifiés"
22. Pierre Scharfer - "Moins Banal (Interlude, Ou Impromptu)"