Glassjaw's First New Album in 15 Years Is Out Next Week

The band also shared a new single, "Shira." The long-awaited 'Material Control' is out December 1.
November 24, 2017, 2:54pm

Much-loved Long Island post-hardcore band Glassjaw have confirmed details of their first new album in 15 years. It’s called Material Control and it’s out next week, December 1. The band have also shared a single from the album, “Shira,” a bludgeoning, churning chunk of melodic punk-metal that starts out angst-ridden and rises to an expansive chorus.

The announcement ends over a decade of rumors around Glassjaw’s third studio LP. Their last full-length, Worship and Tribute, came out in 2002. Since then, the band has disbanded, reunited, toured, released a couple of EPs, and even released snippets of new, supposedly album-ready music. But LP3 was never locked in.


A few Material Control details slunk out of the online retailer Amazon last week. The existence of the record itself was all-but confirmed on the band's social media pages over the last few days.

"New White Extremity," released in 2015, will feature on the 12-song album. Check out the cover art and full tracklist below. Listen to "Shira" at the top of the page.

1. New White Extremity
2. Shira
3. 11 Days
4. Golgotha
5. Pretty Hell
6. Bastille Day
7. Pompeii
8. Bibleland
9. Closer
10. My Conscience Weighs a Ton
11. Material Control
12. Cut and Run

Follow Alex Robert Ross on Twitter.