FYI.

This story is over 5 years old.

Vodun Demonize Colonial Oppression in Their Stark New Video for "Bloodstones"

The London trio is taking their soulful marriage of stoner doom, psych rock, blues, and West African spiritualism on the road across the UK

Last year, Vodun's album Possession sent more than a few shockwaves through the Noisey office with its offbeat blend of hefty stoner doom, low-slung blues, heavy psych rock, and West African spiritualism. The London trio—fronted by powerhouse vocalist Oya—is now gearing up for a UK tour (including a stop at London's Desertfest) and has just released the stark, thought-provoking new video for the track "Bloodstones." The clip is a political statement, exploring themes of oppression and slavery during the colonial era and interweaving imagery from the Vodun religion and stock footage from the American Civil Rights era,

Advertisement

The band shared more thoughts about the video's message, telling Noisey, "The unbreakable bond between people and their spirit is never more evident than in the attempted removal of the cultural identity from the kin of the Western Coast of Africa. Even today, our eyes bear witness to the Native Americans at Standing Rock, hands still firmly clutching what's left of their culture and sacred land – even after the undeniable genocide that was brutally cast upon them giving birth to the most powerful country on Earth. Slavery and genocide made its deep and torrid mark on the psyche of many, however the spirit and essence lives on in all of the corners of where these peoples were forced. Yes, blood runs deep… but spirits are made of stone."

Watch the video for "Bloodstones" below, and make certain to catch Vodun live if they're slated to appear anywhere near you this April. Possession is out now on Riff Rock Records.

VODUN UK TOUR:
Wed 12th Apr - The Phoenix, Coventry *
Thur 13th Apr - Trinity Centre, Bristol *
Sat 15th Apr - The Ruby Lounge, Manchester *
Sun 16th Apr - Rescue Rooms, Nottingham *
Mon 17th Apr - Trillians, Newcastle **
Tue 18th Apr - The Parish, Huddersfield **
Wed 19th Apr - The Wheatsheaf, Oxford **
Thur 20th Apr - The Anvil, Bournemouth **
Fri 21st Apr - TBC
Sat 22nd Apr - TBC
Sun 23rd Apr - TBC
Fri 28th Apr - Desertfest, London
* = With Church of the Cosmic Skull
** = With Desert Storm

Kim Kelly is obsessing over this band on Twitter.