This story is over 5 years old.


Madd Again! Return to Swing Ting with "Brand New Dubplate"

It's the closing track off the London and Manchester quartet's upcoming EP.
Illustration by Ben Lamb.

Manchester veteran Zed Bias and MCs Trigga, Killa Benz, and Specialist Moss, a.k.a. Madd Again!, today shared the grooving lead single off their upcoming MaddTing Vol. 2.1 EP. "Brand New Dubplate" is built around a sample of a radio DJ talking amping up an unreleased song he's about to play—a ritual familiar to anyone who has ever listened to UK dance music radio—and it finds the quartet flexing with their familiar hybrid of diffuse-yet-connected club sounds. Simply put, it's song about soundsystem culture masterfully designed to flourish in said culture.


Madd Again! released their debut LP MaddTing Vol. 1 in 2015, and collaborated with UK garage veteran DJ Q on the "Breadline (Tings Are So Hard)" single last year.

Their new EP will be released by Swing Ting on May 19 and is available for pre-order now.

MaddTing Vol. 2.1 tracklist:

1. Watagwan Yo
2. Bawlout
3. Bun Down (ft. Sweetie Irie)
4. Chatterbox
5. Brand New Dubplate

Follow Alexander on Twitter.