This story is over 5 years old.


Rick Rubin and Friends Remix the Star Wars Universe into a Dance Album

Flying Lotus, A-Trak, and more turn the sounds of the galaxy far, far away into 'Headspace,' your next party album.
Screencap taken, via.

After the debut of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, the cinematic super power announced their latest enterprise, Star Wars Headspace, an original electronic dance album produced and curated by none other than music industry titan Rick Rubin. Similar to what Daft Punk did with Tron in 2011, Star Wars Headspace features a selection of tunes inspired by the Star Wars soundboard from a lineup of prominent young artists.


Since the start of the epic in 1977, George Lucas has been carefully weaving original scores into the Star Wars narrative. Throughout space opera, music and sound have served as consistent creative outlets that breathe life into the Star Wars universe and fill it with authenticity. Spin reminds us that Lucas even went as far as to trademark the type of music played in cafes and cantinas throughout the Star Wars universe.

The official Star Wars website and blog posted a track list yesterday featuring such names as Flying Lotus, Breakbot, Rustie, and Bonobo. Director of The Force Awakens J.J Abrams’ also appears on the album along with Lin-Manuel Miranda, the mastermind behind Broadway’s hit biographical rap musical, Hamilton. writes, “Star Wars Headspace gathers some of the biggest names and emerging talent in electronic music for an entirely new take on a galaxy far, far away.”

The album is set to release digitally on February 19th via Hollywood Records/American Recording, with a physical release coming in March. A few of the tracks were previewed on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show that you can check out below:

Star Wars Headspace Tracklist:

1. C-3P0’s Plight - Kaskade
2. Help Me! - GTA
3. Force - TroyBoi
4. Cantina Boys - Baauer
5. Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work (feat. A-Trak) - Shag Kava
6. R2 Knows (feat. Barry Drift) - Claude VonStroke
7. NR-G7 - Rick Rubin  
8. Ghomrassen - Bonobo
9. Bounty Hunters - Röyksopp
10. Sunset Over Manaan - ATTLAS
11. R2 Where R U? - Flying Lotus
12. Druid Caravan of Smoke - Shlohmo
13. EWOK PUMPP - Rustie
14. Scruffy-Looking - Nerfherder Galantis
15. Star Tripper - Breakbot


For news and updates on the album check out the website, here.


The Weird and Wonderful World of Bootleg Star Wars Toys

'Star Wars' Heroes, Reborn as Greek Sculptures

This Is the Burlesque 'Star Wars' Parody You're Looking For