This story is over 5 years old.


Amnesia Scanner Announces EP on Young Turks, Share Otherworldly Video For "AS Chingy"

The EP, entitled 'AS,' will come out this month and feature six tracks.

Berlin duo, Amnesia Scanner, has announced that they will release an EP called AS on London imprint Young Turks, and shared a hypnotically dark and overstimulating video for release track, "AS Chingy." Directed by Chicago/Austin-based artist and designer Sam Rolfes, the video depicts a nonlinear first person journey through a claustrophobically dense, otherworldly space of digital psychedelia. Although the visual is too hyperactive, jolting, and inconsistently lit to be sure, the setting almost looks like some kind of internally combusting rave.


The track itself is in line with the duo's existing material, kneading and slinging a host club-tangential sounds in a number of unpredictable directions at once. It's hard to tell if the track samples the American rapper Chingy, famous for his 2003 hit "Right Thurr," but it's fully possible that his voice is somewhere in this melange of data. Check out the video above, revisit the duo's recent "AS Crust" video (the track of which will also appear on AS), and pick up their EP when it's out on March 25.

AS tracklist:
1. AS Gardens Need Walls
2. AS Chingy
3. AS Crust
4. AS Wood Gas
5. AS Want It
6. AS Atlas

AS album art:

Follow Alexander on Twitter.