This story is over 5 years old.


LCD Soundsystem Announce Their New Album 'American Dream,' at Long Last

The band's fourth studio album is due out September 1.
Photo by Ruvan Wijesooriya, courtesy of Amazon.

James Murphy's dance-rock outfit LCD Soundsystem finally announced their new album this morning. American Dream will be released on September 1, and come out on Murphy's DFA imprint and Columbia Records.

The band will also go on an extended world tour this fall; tickets will go on sale for various gigs on June 21, 22, and 23.

American Dream clocks in at ten tracks along, and features "call the police" and "american dream," which were previously released as a double A-sided single on May 5. This will be the Brooklyn group's first record since 2010's This Is Happening.


The album has been a long, long time coming. Murphy first confirmed it in January 2016, when he penned an extensive open letter addressing the LCD reunion and the overall state of the band.

"It's been one of the most enjoyable records to make in my life, if not the most fun ever (I think it is, for sure, the happiest I've ever been making a record)," Murphy previously said about the album.

American Dream tracklist:

1. oh baby
2. other voices
3. i used to
4. change yr mind
5. how do you sleep?
6. tonite
7. call the police
8. american dream
9. emotional haircut
10. black screen

Follow Alexander on Twitter.