Stream of the Crop: 8 New Albums for Heavy Rotation

New albums from The Killers, Knox Fortune, and Jhené Aiko top this week's list.
September 23, 2017, 4:26pm
Screenshot via The Killers on Instagram

The Killers: Wonderful Wonderful

The Killers have always been weirder than they've gotten credit for – but even by that measure, their forthcoming fifth studio album Wonderful Wonderful (out 22 September) is pretty fucking weird. The first single from the Jacknife Lee-produced album, "The Man," possesses a glammy and braggadocious swagger only hinted at on the band's third album, 2008's underrated Day & Age; elsewhere, there's sports-footage samples, M83-style synth blowouts, lyrical allusions to "fake news," Toto-esque atmospherics, and a song called "Tyson Vs. Douglas." The album's closing track bears the name "Have All the Songs Been Written?", but it's clear that the Las Vegas pop-rock mainstays are far from out of ideas. —Larry Fitzmaurice, The Killers Aren't Dead Yet

Knox Fortune: Paradise

Paradise, his debut album[…] is a smart and surprisingly poppy collection of tracks. Known for his hip-hop productions, Rhomberg experiments in a variety of different genres and lands on a bold throwback sound, a far cry from the dark, druggy beats rule the radio. Rhomberg's voice, which appears from time to time on other artist's tracks (like on Chance's infectious summer dance anthem, "All Night" and Kami's "The Both of Us"), is front and center on the record. Soon, South Haven, Michigan won't be the weirdest place he's recognized. —Britt Julious, We're All Rooting for Knox Fortune

Jhené Aiko: Trip

Jhené Aiko's second LP Trip, was released by surprise on Friday morning. The 22-track project features contributions from Swae Lee, Brandy, Big Sean, Kurupt, and Mali Music. Aiko confirmed the album in an interview with Playboy last month, but didn't add a release date at the time. "It's inspired by every type of trip you could imagine: mental, physical, even psychedelic," she said. "I'm at a point where I put it all in the music. It's a puzzle I want people to put together." It comes two days after the R&B singer-songwriter released a 23-minute short movie of the same name, co-written with Girls Trip writer Tracy Oliver. —Alex Robert Ross

Moses Sumney: Aromanticism

After releasing several EPs and singles, each more labyrinthine than the last, Moses Sumney has finally dropped his debut album Aromanticism. As usual, the music (and Sumney's voice) is gentle and soulful enough to be enjoyed as soothing background music, but harmonically sophisticated enough to reward intense, nerdy listening ("Quarrel," phew!). Now, you could stream this album on Spotify or what have you, but Sumney's YouTube channel has the entire thing uploaded and every song has a unique and abstract visualization, including a new video for "Lonely World." This is clearly way cooler, and maybe what Sumney intended, so give Aromanticism a watch and a listen here. — Phil Whitmer

Chelsea Wolfe: Hiss Spun

Chelsea Wolfe's sixth studio album Hiss Spun was catalysed by a reunion. Around 10 years ago, the goth-folk songwriter had a band with Happy Fangs drummer Jess Gowrie, but the years since had been quiet for the pair. "[We] didn't talk for seven years after I left," Wolfe explains. "Two years ago, we started hanging out again, and along with our friendship the musical chemistry came flying back. It was important to me to play music with Jess again – she taught me a lot about music and how to be a front person of a band." —Dianca London, Chelsea Wolfe's New Album finds Stability in Chaos

Metz: Strange Peace

Emphatically loud Canadian three-piece Metz's third LP, Strange Peace, was produced by Steve Albini and, somehow, this is the first time that the legendary producer and Shellac/Big Black auteur has sat behind the desk for them. Recorded live from floor to tape at Electrical Audio Studio in Chicago, it retains the blistering pace of their first to LPs—Metz and II—but backs off in places. Albini's goal is always to make a band sound like themselves, with no bullshit. So, if the almost-pop melodies of "Raw Emotion" are anything to go by, Metz are growing into something fascinating. —ARR

Godspeed You Black Emperor: Luciferian Towers

It's honestly kind of a blessing to have Godspeed You! Black Emperor back on a regular recording and touring schedule in this decade. Where else can we get the feeling of listening to music that sounds like destruction and rebirth during a time where it feels like both are occurring everywhere? Okay, well, maybe it's not that deep, but the Montreal band is still capable of summoning up gales of guitar and strings like no one else can[…] The record is actually slight for a GY!BE release: none of the songs stretch over 20 minutes, the lengthy drones are kept to a minimum, and the harrowing field recordings that marked the band's early work are totally absent. Of course, "slight" for these guys still means "15-minute instrumental epics, split into movements" so some things never change. They're better off not changing, too; again, no one has taken this band's lane yet and GY!BE delivering their unique thrills in their most easily digestible package yet (a svelte 43 minutes) is a great and wonderful thing. —PW

Young Thug & Carnage: Young Martha

Following on from Young Thug's brilliant Beautiful Thugger Girls, Young Martha has the Atlantan icon alongside DJ Carnage for a quick-hit four-track EP. It features "Liger" and "Homie," both of which are relentless. All other information is just pointless. —ARR

Follow Noisey on Twitter.