Kaytranada to Feature on New Kendrick Lamar Record

The Montreal producer will sing in autotune, of all things, on the album cut "Lust."
April 11, 2017, 7:21pm
Photo by Jacqueline Ashton.

Los Angeles rapper Kendrick Lamar today announced the title, cover, and tracklist for his new album DAMN., due to come out this Friday, April 14. In the social media storm that inevitably followed, Juno Award-winning producer Kaytranada came out of the woodwork to announce that he makes an appearance on the album.

It doesn't look like he's a K-Dot collaborator in his usual, Juno Award-winning capacity as a producer, though. In fact, Kaytranada tweeted this afternoon that he sings in autotune on the albumcut "Lust," which is a highly unusual move for the beatmaker.


Fellow Candians BADBADNOTGOOD similarly took to Twitter to announce that they were on the track, where they said that it features production from DJ Dahi and Soundwave.

Last week, it was reported that U2, Mike WiLL Made-It, 9th Wonder, the Alchemist, Greg Kurstin, and someone called "J. Blake" (is that you James?) would feature on Lamar's upcoming album.

DAMN. tracklist:

1. Blood
2. DNA
3. Yah
4. Element
5. Feel
6. Loyalty (ft. Rihanna)
7. Pride
8. Humble
9. Lust
10. Love
11. xxx (ft. U2)
12. Fear
13. God
14. Duckworth

Follow Alexander on Twitter.