This story is over 5 years old.


These Republican Senators Won't Even Say White Supremacy Is Bad

Not all Republican senators have made an attempt to distance themselves from the deadly violence that took place at a "Unite the Right" rally in Charlottesville, Virginia on Saturday.

On Saturday, a man connected to a white supremacist group drove a car into a crowd of counter-protesters at a "Unite the Right" rally in Charlottesville, Virginia. The attack killed a woman and left 19 others injured.

The suspect, James Alex Fields Jr., has been charged with murder. According to Buzzfeed, Fields appeared to actively post alt-right memes and has shown support for Trump online. He is also registered as a Republican.


In a bid to (rightfully) distance themselves from their extremist supporters, the majority of Republican senators released statements condemning the attack throughout the weekend and today. Some vaguely condemned "hatred," echoing Trump's weak initial response to the tragedy, while others took clearer stances against "bigotry." But only twelve senators denounced nazis or white supremacy by name. (Earlier today, Trump finally condemned the white supremacist groups in Charlottesville.)

Here's the full list of senators who have released statements:

Dan Sullivan (Alaska), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Jeff Flake (Arizona), John Mccain (Arizona), Tom Cotton (Arkansas), John Boozman (Arkansas), Cory Gardner (Colorado), Marco Rubio (Florida), David Perdue (Georgia), Johnny Isakson (Georgia), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Todd Young (Indiana), Chuck Grassley (Iowa), Joni Ernst (Iowa), Pat Roberts (Kansas), Jerry Moran (Kansas), Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (Kentucky), Bill Cassidy (Louisiana), John Kennedy (Louisiana), Susan Collins (Maine), Roger Wicker (Mississippi), Thad Cochran (Mississippi), Roy Blunt (Missouri), Steve Daines (Montana), Deb Fischer (Nebraska), Ben Sasse (Nebraska), Dean Heller (Nevada), Thom Tillis (North Carolina), Rob Portman (Ohio), Jim Inhofe (Oklahoma), James Lankford (Oklahoma), Pat Toomey (Pennsylvania), Lindsey Graham (South Carolina), Tim Scott (South Carolina), John Thune (South Dakota), Bob Corker (Tennessee), Lamar Alexander (Tennessee), Ted Cruz (Texas), John Cornyn (Texas), Orrin Hatch (Utah), Shelley Moore Capito (West Virginia), John Barrasso (Wyoming), Mike Enzi (Wyoming) and Ron Johnson (Wisconsin).

Seven senators have stayed silent on the attack, as of Monday afternoon:

Richard Shelby, Alabama
Jim Risch, Idaho
Rand Paul, Kentucky
Richard Burr, North Carolina
John Hoeven, North Dakota
Mike Rounds, South Dakota
Mike Lee, Utah

On Saturday, Jeff Sessions announced that the Department of Justice has opened up a civil rights investigation into the attack. "Justice will prevail," Sessions said. But coming from the Trump administration, that's hard to believe.