RVNG Intl Announce Benefit Compilation 'Peaceful Protest'

At Moogfest, the label will be releasing a cassette benefitting the LGBTQ Center of Durham.
May 18, 2017, 2:20pm
Artwork courtesy of label.

The New York label RVNG Intl. announced a new compilation called Peaceful Protest to be released today at Moogfest. The triple cassette features contributions from Kate NV, Baltra, Zach Cooper, Raica, You're Me, and C. Lavender, and all proceeds will go to the LGBTQ Center of Durham.

In a press release, the label said the idea for the release came about when the North Carolina festival asked them to soundtrack a "meditation space." They enlisted a group of musicians close to the label to produce long-form compositions. But after considering the political state in North Carolina—which includes the discriminatory bathroom laws that were in effect over the last couple years—they decided that they could put the music commissioned for the purpose to good use as a benefit compilation.

The physical edition of the cassette is limited to 200 copies and will only be available at Moogfest and RVNG's New York outpost Commend. They've not announced plans for a digital release just yet, but a part of Kate NV's composition, titled, "KAK HOW" is streaming now. As the title and concept of the comp promise, it's a slow-moving piece, but it's light and playful too—on the brighter side of the spectrum of ambient music. Listen to that below.

Peaceful Protest tracklist:

1. Baltra – "Where Do We Go From Here"
2. Kate NV – "УХО EAR"
3. Kate NV – "ДУБ OAK"
4. Kate NV – "KAK HOW"
5. Kate NV – "ЖУК BUG"
6. Kate NV – "ЗРЯ SEE"
7. Zach Cooper – "The arts are the first to go."
8. You're Me w/ Jon Scherk – "Live From Deep Blue"
9. C. Lavender – "White Oleander"
10. C. Lavender – "Delphic Oracle Enters The Chasm"
11. Raica – "Stellar Remnant"