This story is over 5 years old.


Thundercat Announces Third Album 'Drunk' Featuring Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, Flying Lotus, and More

Hear the Brainfeeder artist's latest single "Show You The Way" with Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins.
Album artwork courtesy of label

Los Angeles bassist, singer, and producer Thundercat has announced the details of his third LP, Drunk, out Feb. 24 on Brainfeeder. The follow-up to his 2015 mini-album The Beyond/Where the Giants Roam features Kendrick Lamar, Flying Lotus, Kamasi Washington, Pharrell, and Wiz Khalifa, and includes previously released tracks "Them Changes" and "Bus In These Streets."

He's also shared the single "Show You The Way," which includes vocal contributions from yacht rock veterans Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins, the former of whom he played with during a September Brainfeeder concert at LA's Hollywood Bowl.


Of the album's title, the bassist told Red Bull Music Academy Daily, "I've always tried to hold true to what Erykah Badu and Flying Lotus told me: It has to come from an honest place. I feel like it's a place that I've been in different ways, seen different angles of and it's been a bit inspirational - the drinking. It has its ups and downs and everything, but I felt like it showed the human side of what goes on behind things, something that I see with all of my friends… I felt like it was kind of interweaved in the music culture. And it's something that's never talked about."

Listen to "Show You The Way" and check out a tracklist below, and revisit our recent conversation with Thundercat and Zack Fox.

Drunk Tracklist:

1. Rabbot Ho
2. Captain Stupido
3. Uh Uh
4. Bus In These Streets
5. A Fan's Mail (Tron Song Suite II)
6. Lava Lamp
7. Jethro
8. Day & Night
9. Show You The Way (feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)
10. Walk On By (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
11. Blackkk
12. Tokyo
13. Jameel's Space Ride
14. Friend Zone
15. Them Changes
16. Where I'm Going
17. Drink Dat (feat. Wiz Khalifa)
18. Inferno
19. I Am Crazy
20. 3AM
21. Drunk
22. The Turn Down (feat. Pharrell)
23. DUI

Max Mertens is on Twitter.