Weed rights activists rejoice today, as Delaware just became the 18th state to decriminalize the personal use and possession of marijuana, the Guardian reports. In six months, Delaware residents will be able to possess up to an ounce of weed and smoke it in the comfort of their own homes, without risking criminal charges.
If someone is caught blazing outside, they'll face a $100 ticket. That's a little steep, but it's a lot better than Delaware's previous law. Before Governor Jack Markell signed the bill decriminalizing weed, pot possession was punishable with up to six months in jail and over $1,000 in fines.
The Democrat-backed decriminalization bill passed through both the state's house and senate without a single Republican vote.
Want Some In-Depth Stories About Weed?
1. The Colorado Supreme Court Says Smoking Weed Can Still Get You Fired
2. What's It Like to Be an Internet-Famous Stoner?
3. A New Study Says Legalizing Medical Weed Doesn't Lead to More Teens Toking Up
4. This Shady Florida Law Firm Is Telling Clients Medical Weed Is Legal