Music by VICE

D∆WN to Release Final Installment of Album Trilogy, ‘Redemption,’ Next Month

Hear a new track from the LP, “Renegades.”

by Krystal Rodriguez
Oct 7 2016, 7:45pm

Album artwork courtesy of the artist

From show stoppin' as part of girl group Danity Kane (and then as part of Diddy Dirty Money) to show running as a solo act, D∆WN aka Dawn Richard finally found her niche within experimental electronica. Following up on her Infrared EP and a mythological fashion film, Richard has announced that her new album, Redemption, will be released next month on November 18 via Local Action / Our Dawn Entertainment.

Redemption marks the third and final installment in Richard's Heart album trilogy, comprised of 2013's Goldenheart and last year's Blackheart. According to an interview with Billboard, she says her hometown of New Orleans plays a major part in the album, notably in its use of live instrumentation. The LP will also discuss current events and her relationship with the music industry, touching on topics such as race issues, gender equality, and female empowerment. Redemption was produced largely by Richard and frequent collaborator Machinedrum (who just released his own album), and it has guest features from fellow New Orleans artists Trombone Shorty and PJ Morton.

Along with the news, Richard has shared a bellowing track from the LP, "Renegades," which you can hear below. Previously released singles "Dance," "Not Above That" and "Hollywould," all of which were purportedly on the follow-up to Blackheart, are no longer included in the final tracklist, also below.

Redemption tracklist:
1. Redemption (Intro)
2. Love Under Lights
3. Black Crimes
4. Voices
5. LA ft. Trombone Shorty
6. Interim (Interlude)
7. Renegades
8. Lazarus
9. Tyrants
10. Vines ft. PJ Morton
11. Hey Nikki
12. Sands
13. Lilies (Interlude)
14. The Louvre
15. Valhalla (Outro)

Dawn Richard