thump news

Aphex Twin and µ-Ziq Share a Drunkenly Cartoonish New Old Track

The duo will reissue their 1996 LP 'Expert Knob Twiddlers' with seven bonus tracks and two alternate versions.

by Alexander Iadarola
20 July 2016, 9:11am

Album art courtesy of the label

Wonky electronics veterans, Aphex Twin and µ-Ziq (aka Mike Paradinas, who runs Planet Mu), have announced that they'll reissue their 1996 collaborative LP as Mike & Rich, Expert Knob Twiddlers. The album was recorded in 1994 and originally released on Rephlex, co-owned by Aphex and Grant Wilson-Claridge; for the reissue it has been re-edited and remastered, and will include seven bonus tracks as well as two alternate versions.

Richard D. James and Paradinas have shared one of those unreleased versions for the occasion in "Vodka (Mix2)." Evoking a sloppy cartoon dance performed with drunken abandon, it finds the producers doing what they do best—knob twiddling—with a penchant for psychedelic oddity.

The record will arrive via Paradinas' label Planet Mu on September 16 on digital, 2CD, 3LP, and limited cassette formats.

Earlier this year, Paradinas uncovered a long lost µ-Ziq album written between 1996-1998. One of his label's recent signings is Antwood, a Canadian microbiologist making club music imagined by artificial intelligence. Check out the track below, as well as album tracklist below that.

Expert Knob Twiddlers tracklist:

Disc 1:

1. Mr. Frosty
2. Reg
3. Jelly Fish
4. Eggy Toast
5. Vodka
6. Winner Takes All
7. Upright Kangaroo
8. Giant Deflating Football
9. The Sound Of The Beady Eyes
10. Bu Bu Bu Ba

Disc 2:

1. Vodka (Mix 2)
2. Portamento Gosh
3. Waltz
4. Brivert & Muonds
5. Clissold Bathroom
6. Jelly Fish (Mix 2)
7. Organ Plodder

Follow Alexander on Twitter.

Aphex Twin
planet mu
expert knob twiddlers
mike & rich
aphex twin mike paradinas new track
expanded reissue
vodka (mix2)