Illum Sphere Announces New Album on Ninja Tune, Previews First Track "Thousand Yard Stare"

The album arrives on November 4th, and you can hear the single right here, right now.

by Gabby Bess
13 October 2016, 12:40pm

Photo by Vivek Vadoliya

As Illum Sphere, Ryan Hunn's spent the last few years crafting some of the most quietly original and intriguing electronic music around. From the early Fat City released experiments in zero-gravity post-dubstep through to out-there Radiohead remixes and ethereal avant-electronica, Hunn's yet to put a foot wrong.

Having signed with the legendary Ninja Tune a few years beforehand, his debut LP, 2014's Ghosts of Then and Now, was an expansive affair propelled by a restless kind of innovation. Tracks existed in unique microcosms, each exuding their own individual sense of deep-rooted urban dread. It was like a Boards of Canada album for people who grew up with the internet rather than The Wicker Man.

So it's with great pleasure that we can announce that he's back with a brand new LP on the imprint. Glass, which hits stores on the 4th of November, sees Hunn explore isolationist territory, resulting in a record that's both incredibly intimate and oddly sweeping. "I wanted to make an album very different to the first," says the producer, "one with a different palette, pace and energy." For those of us who like our electronica albums tinged with a chiaroscuro kind of melancholy, it's an essential purchase.

To get yourself in the mood for it, why not stream the utterly incredible "Thousand Yard Stare" below. The one and only Mary-Anne Hobbs gave it a spin on the radio last night and you can do the same right here. You'll also find a tracklisting down there too. Enjoy.


1. The Journey
2. Fall Into Water
3. Red Glass
4. Wounded
5. Oracle
6. Fuel The Fire
7. River
8. Thousand Yard Stare
9. Paradise

Glass is out on CD/LP/DL on the 4th of November via Ninja Tune. Pre-order it here.