This story is over 5 years old

Gorgon City Kicks Off Their US Tour With An Exclusive Mix

Gorgon City gives us a 60 minute mix with some exclusive tracks

by THUMP Staff
May 2 2013, 10:55pm

Well known UK Bass producers Foamo and RackNRuin bring you Gorgon City, The more lush and soulful UK garage inspired house project for fans of Disclosure, champagne in inconvenient cups and girls with beautiful long hair. Gorgon CIty is a vocal-driven house project on Black Butter, a label that is quickly shaping up to be one to watch with acts such as Bondax and Kidnap Kid.

THUMP: Any particular favorite tracks on this mix?
Gorgon City: A personal favourite is Tapesh & Maixilijan - Get It On. Love the crazy acid bassline and the way it moves. The second drop is serious as well. Shadow Child's remix of the new Hot Natured track is also amazing.

You recently announced your first performance in the US. Any hopes or expectations for your break into the American scene? Expect that they'll go crazier than the european crowds?
We definitely hope so! American crowds are renowned for being great, we;ve experienced them separately but never together as Gorgon City. It's going to be amazing to play all our new music out there, can't wait.

You've also mentioned that you've spent some time in the studio with one of your favorite bands. Any hints?
Over the past few months we've had sessions with some amazing artists and 2 of them we are both big fans of. The result of one of the sessions is on the mix so get guessing! The other artist features on our next single, but you'll have to wait for that one...

Finally, how much time did you spend with fine Gorgon ladies before deciding to name your band?
Quite a lot. Medusa is mental, you can't leave her near our rider. She ends up killing everyone backstage after a few shots of Jack Daniels...

Track List:
1. Him Self Her - Together
2. Forget Me Not - Only You
3. Squarehead - Unreal
4. Gorgon City - Real ft. Yasmin
5. Tapesh & Maixilijan - Get It On
6. Shenoda - I Feel
7. Dusky - Atone
8. Gorgon City - Cycles
9. Lars Vegas - The Game
10. Gorgon City - Freeze
11. Hot Natured - Reverse Skydiving (Shadow Child Remix)
12. Clean Bandit - Nightingale (Gorgon City Remix)
13. iO Sounds - You Me (Forget Me Not Remix)
14. Turntable Orchestra - You're Gonna Miss Me (Friend Within Remix)
15. Gorgon City - 10 Below
16. Rachel Row - Follow The Step (Justin Martin Remix)
17. Basement Jaxx - Back To The Wild (Gorgon City Remix)
18. Rudimental - Hell Could Freeze (Skream Remix)

USA Dates:
Fri 26th April | Rinsed @ Loft - NYC
Sun 28th April | Secret Show TBA
Thurs 2nd May | React @ Primary - Chicago
Fri 3rd May | Private Label @ Lure Patio - Los Angeles

Gorgon City will be back in August for more N.America shows..