Music by VICE

Chromatics Announce Long-Awaited 'Dear Tommy' Album, Share Blood-Soaked Video for Title Track

It's the first album from the American electronic group since 2012's 'Kill for Love.'

by Max Mertens
Aug 26 2016, 4:24pm

Screencap via YouTube

When Chromatics put out their last album, 2012's critically-acclaimed Kill for Love, the world was a very different place. David Bowie and Prince were still alive, a Twin Peaks reboot was still only in fans' dreams, and the thought of a Donald Trump presidency was completely unfathomable. Four years and countless delays later, Johnny Jewel and co. have announced details about their long-awaited follow-up, Dear Tommy.

The tracklist, which you can see below, features a handful of songs longtime followers of the band will recognize, including "Cherry," "I Can Never Be Myself When You're Around," and "Shadow." They've also shared a stylish music video for the slow-burning title track, which evokes an 80s horror film, with flowers, broken glass, and blood-soaked guitars.

The album doesn't have a concrete release date yet, but hopefully we can expect it sooner rather than later on Italians Do It Better.

Dear Tommy Tracklist:

1. Fresh Blood
2. In Films
3. Time Rider
4. I Can Never Be Myself When You're Around
5. Cherry
6. She Says
7. Just Like You
8. 4 A.M.
9. Teacher
10. Camera
11. Dear Tommy
12. Touch Blue
13. After Hours
14. Shadow
15. In Silence
16. Colorblind
17. Endless Sleep

Max Mertens is on Twitter.

Johnny Jewel
Italians Do It Better
Dear Tommy