Music by VICE

Gage Returns With Eerie New EP About The Disillusionment of Today

'2017 STAY PARO' is a follow-up to 2016's 'Mercury.'

by Britt Julious
Apr 9 2017, 7:00pm

Photo via Gage

UK producer Gage returns with a follow-up to 2016's Mercury with his new long EP, 2017 STAY PARO. The new project, longer than a traditional EP but not quite a full-length album, is a blistering collection of tracks that pierces through to the cacophony of noises and frustrations of contemporary life.

"I've been continually let down and frustrated by the world on a micro and macro scale over the last couple of years," Gage says.

This disillusionment can be felt on the collection's off-kilter experimental club tracks, like "Kaya," the lead single from the EP, which Gage reportedly built from "wolf goes n' growls."

Still, the record is not entirely ominous. "Tyler's Interlude," is a surprisingly warm and hopeful few minutes, full of brightness and clarity. "There's definitely more pleasantries on this than on 'Mercury' for sure," the producer said.

Stream 2017 STAY PARO below and purchase it here. In 2016, we wrote about how Gage became the most exciting producer in the U.K.

2017 STAY PARO tracklist
1. TBT/Flashback
2. Deps
3. lil boro
4. wait, Wat
5. Tyler's Interlude
6. Kaya
7. bix
8. Flash Pattern