Cassius Dreams Up a Dance Isle Paradise on New Album

'Ibifornia' features guest spots from Mike D, Cat Power, Pharrell, and members of One Republic and Portugal. The Man

by Michael Scott Barron
Apr 1 2016, 3:32pm

Photo courtesy of the artists

After TK years since last putting out a record, the French House duo Cassius have been prepping for the release of a new album titled Ibifornia. Now members Phillipe Zdar and Boom Bass have released details about their first album in a decade, and its shaping up to be a grand return.

Ibifornia is a portmanteau of the sunny state of California and Spanish party island of Ibiza. The musical influences of both cultures are ladled throughout the album, which as they told Pitchfork, combined Ibiza's underground house with California's pop music roots.

"This album, for the first time in our life, has something which is more," Zdar told Pitchfork. "It's not only a collection of tracks. It's really offering a way of thinking about your life—finding your Ibifornia. And go there and be happy there."

To help the duo achieve a vision of their mythical isle of Ibifornia, they have brought in some heavy hitting guest stars to form what Zdar described to the publication as a "Cassius and the Family Stone," including the Beastie Boy's Mike D, Chan Marshall of Cat Power, wunderkind producer Pharrell Williams, pop rock act One Republic's Ryan Tedder, and indie band Portugal. The Man's John Gorley.

To whet our excitement, the band dropped two singles today, including a sunset strip shuffle featuring Cat Power and Pharrell sharing the microphone, and the more guitar-sprangly "The Missing" featuring Tedder, French singer/songwriter JAW, and a sexy sax outro. Listen to both below the tracklist and album art.

Ibifornia is out June 24 with Interscope / Polydor Records

Ibifornia tracklist

1. The Missing (ft. Ryan Tedder & Jaw)
2. Love Parade (ft. Mike D)
3. Action (ft. Cat Power & Mike D)
4. Go Up (ft. Cat Power & Pharell Williams)
5. Ibifornia
6. Hey You (ft. Ryan Tedder)
7. Feel Like Me (ft. Cat Power)
8. Blue Jean Smile (ft. John Gourley of Portugal. The Man)
9. The Sound Of Love (ft. Jaw)
10. Ponce