Brooklyn’s B Boys Are Here to Free Your Mind with "Seagulls"

Brooklyn's B Boys are a wild group of dudes, but in the best way.

|
Feb 17 2016, 3:15pm


Photo by Heather Strange

If you read B Boys' bio, your immediate thought will be “these guys are absolutely nuts.” And they are, but in a way that will definitely benefit your ears.

“Three psychos that came to be through fate by way of necessity, B Boys offer up to the world their sonic manifesto, No Worry No Mind. A relief from the mania, an expression of duality, an extension of Dadaism,” claims their bio. But though they describe themselves as a relief from mania, what they bring on their latest track, "Seagulls," is quite the opposite. It’s a manic surf punk lick that kind of makes you wonder if they were one of those bands that inspired HBO Vinyl’s band Nasty Bits. Whether or not that’s true (leaning heavily toward not) this track is full of 60s British punk energy that will probably inspire you to drop a little acid and stare at a lava lamp and wonder what it all means, man.

“'Seagulls' is about using positive affirmations and visualization to inspire self-growth--- feeling unafraid to change your ways in order to find true contentment,” says Brendon Avalos, the bassist and singer for this particular song (he and guitarist Britton Walker often share vocals).

Ok, so maybe don’t drop that acid, but definitely take these next two and a half minutes to just get lost in your mind, then pre-order their latest EP No Worry No Mind out March 18, then get tickets to their upcoming shows.

Fri. Mar. 25 - Brooklyn, NY @ Shea Stadium w/ Yung

Fri. Apr. 29 - Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool

Sun. May 1 - Boston,MA @ Middle East

Mon. May 2 - Winooski,VT @ The Monkey House

Tue. May 3 - Montreal,QC @ Casa del Popolo

Wed. May 4 - Toronto,ON @ Canadian Music Week

Thu. May 5 - Detroit,MI @ Donovans

Fri. May 6 - Chicago,IL @ Beat Kitchen

Sat. May 7 - St Louis,MO @ Sink Hole

Sun. May 8 - Bloomington,IN @ The Bishop

Mon. May 9 - Columbus,OH @ The Summit

Tue. May 10 - Pittsburgh,PA @ Black Forge Coffee House

Wed. May 11 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer w/ Parquet Courts

Thu. May 12 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club w/ Parquet Courts

Fri. May 13 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat's Cradle w/ Parquet Courts

Mon. May 16 - Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge w/ Parquet Courts

Tue. May 17 - Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight w/ Parquet Courts

Wed. May 18 - Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theater w/ Parquet Courts

Fri. May 20 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall w/ Parquet Courts

Annalise Domenighini does not do drugs. Follow her on Twitter.