Advertisement
Entertainment

Instagram Mourns Carrie Fisher

As a woman she inspired strength in hard times, and as an icon she inspired countless creative works.

by Beckett Mufson
Dec 28 2016, 2:30pm
 

RIP Princess <3

A photo posted by E-ZUS | ERIKA | エリカ (@e.zus) on


A great disturbance in the Force was felt when actress, writer, and icon Carrie Fisher passed away at the age of 60. Family spokesperson Simon Halls announced that she died after suffering a heart attack while on a plane Friday from London to LA, accoring to People.  

“It is with a very deep sadness that Billie Lourd confirms that her beloved mother Carrie Fisher passed away,” Halls says. Lourd, Fisher's 24-year-old daughter, adds, “She was loved by the world and she will be missed profoundly. Our entire family thanks you for your thoughts and prayers.”

Science indicates that making art relieves stress, and is proven to be theraputic. Moved by her most well-known performance as Princess Leia Organa in Star Wars, as well as her career as a trailblazer in the male-dominated scriptwriting world, her survival of addiction, and her rebirth as a novelist and director of her own one woman show, artists and creatives have taken to Instagram to pay their respects. Some are off-the-cuff images created in emotional reaction to the news, and others are curated moments. Their outpouring of Fisher's image enshrined in photography, illustration, and fine art is a reminder of the effect one powerful woman can have on a generation. 
 

 

RIP Carrie Fisher #leia #ruePrincesse #paris #PA1190

A photo posted by Invader (@invaderwashere) on

A video posted by Isaac Lo (@backto1974) on

 

A photo posted by MJ.Hiblen ART (@mjhiblenart) on

 

Thanks for all the inspiration Carrie Fisher

A photo posted by Jeremy Cowart (@jeremycowart) on

 

R.I.P. to the baddest. (art from @juliancallos)

A photo posted by Patti Lapel (@pattilapel) on

 

One other star in the 2016 sky

A photo posted by Anne Horel (@annehorel) on

 

what a loss. but what a legacy she's left behind. lost but never EVER forgotten.

A photo posted by Frances Cannon (@frances_cannon) on

 

A photo posted by Amy Lombard (@amylombard) on

 

#princesseleia #sosad#carriefisher

A photo posted by Sacha Goldberger (@sachagoldberger) on

 

A photo posted by Javier Pérez (@cintascotch) on

 

You can say that again, @black_von!

A photo posted by Hrag Vartanian (@hragv) on


Related:

See Rare Photos of Carrie Fisher, Harrison Ford, & More in a New Photo Exhibition

Star Wars Enters Real Life in This Photo Series

Here's Why You Should Be Reading Marvel's 'Star Wars' Comics

Tagged:
Instagram
Creators
Illustration
mourning
photographers
Carrie Fisher
Fuck 2016