©2014 VICE Media LLC

    The VICE Channels

      Die kleinen Welten von London

      October 24, 2012

      Daniel Stier ist ein deutscher Fotograf, der zwar seit mehr als 15 Jahren in London lebt, aber immer noch von den kräftigen Afrikanerinnen in ihren traditionellen Kleidern fasziniert ist. Das inspirierte ihn dazu, verschiedenste Einwanderer in ihren traditionellen Landestrachten zu fotografieren. Das Ergebnis, In My Country, ist eine Sammlung von bemerkenswerten Bildern. Es zeigt aztekische Götter vor Wohnblöcken in Hackney und mit Juwelen behängte, elfengleiche Balinesinnen, die auf der Straße tanzen.



      VICE: Wenn man sich die meisten deiner Bilder anschaut, ist es wohl angebracht, dich eher als Kunstfotografen zu bezeichnen. Ist das so, weil du für ein Foto gerne ein ordentliches Konzept hast?
      Daniel Stier: Ja, ich tendiere dazu, mir Gedanken zu machen, bevor ich fotografiere. Ich bin keiner dieser Typen, die den ganzen Tag mit der Kamera in der Hand durch die Gegend rennen. Ich habe lieber wirklich etwas zu sagen, als dass ich einfach alles fotografiere, was mir vor die Linse läuft, und ich im Nachhinein dafür Erklärungen finden muss. Wenn es um Kunst geht, erwarte ich von einem Künstler, dass er eine eindeutige Stellung bezieht.

      Wie bereitest du dich auf Porträts wie die in In My Country vor? In wieweit bringen sich deine Modelle ein? 
      Ich will nicht die komplette Kontrolle haben, weil die meisten Leute Ideen vorbringen, auf die ich selber nie kommen würde. Aber leider haben die meisten auch bestimmte Vorstellungen vom Posen, was problematisch sein kann. Ich habe versucht, Menschen in ihrem echten Umfeld zu fotografieren—ihre Straße oder das Haus, in dem sie wohnen—und manche sagten dann: „Oh, hier sieht es schrecklich aus. Kann ich mich nicht einfach neben diese Blume stellen?“ Jede Seite hat ihre eigene Vorstellung davon, wie ein gutes Foto auszusehen hat. Manchmal läuft es auf einen Kompromiss hinaus, manchmal machen wir es so, wie ich es will, manchmal auch gar nicht. 

      Was war die Grundidee hinter In My Country?
      Nun, ich bin Deutscher, aber ich lebe seit 20 Jahre in London. Ich liebe es, vermisse aber das Gefühl, dazu zu gehören. Dieses Gefühl interessiert mich. Ich war nicht gezwungen, hierher zu kommen—ich bin kein Flüchtling—, deshalb versuchte ich zu zeigen, wie sich Menschen integrieren, aber gleichzeitig niemals völlig integriert sein werden. Das ist das Gefühl, das London zu dem macht, was es ist: 40 % der Leute, die hier leben, sind nicht in Großbritannien geboren.

      Daher der Titel vermute ich?
      Ja, alle, die ich fotografiert habe, sagten Dinge wie „In meinem Land“ oder „zu Hause“, so als ob sie ihrer Heimat gerade erst den Rücken gekehrt hätten und das, obwohl sie zum Teil schon seit 30 Jahren hier leben. Ich erkannte, dass ich genau das gleiche tat: Ich lebe schon so lange hier, ich habe keine Ahnung, was in Deutschland heutzutage los ist, bezeichne es aber trotzdem immer noch als mein „Zuhause“. 

      Und ihre traditionellen Trachten sind der Teil ihrer Heimat, den sie mitnehmen können.
      Ja, ganz genau. Wenn du am Sonntagmorgen spazieren gehst, siehst du in manchen Stadtteilen wie Hackney Menschen, die total rausgeputzt zur Kirche gehen. Der Kontrast zwischen ihnen und ihrer Umgebung könnte nicht größer sein. Das hat mich sofort gepackt und ich habe versucht, diesen Kontrast zu rekonstruieren. Es ist alles inszeniert, aber ich versuche, es als ein Symbol für etwas Größeres zu nutzen. 

      Wie hast du deine Modelle gefunden?
      Heutzutage findest du alles im Internet. Religiöse Gruppen, Kirchen, Moscheen, Bands, Flüchtlingsorganisationen. Ich habe ganz einfach alle kontaktiert. Sie dazu zu bringen, sich fotografieren zu lassen, war etwas schwieriger, weil viele Probleme mit der Einwanderungsbehörde haben und befürchteten, ich wäre ein Immigrationsbeamter oder ein Polizist.
      Was hinzukommt, ist, dass viele—trotz der 20 oder 30 Jahre, die sie schon hier leben—kaum ein Wort Englisch sprechen. Sie leben in ihrer Gemeinde—wo sie alles haben, was sie brauchen—und die junge Generation ist ihr Kontakt zur Außenwelt.

      Welche der vielen Geschichten, die hinter den Kleidungsstücken stehen, gefällt dir am besten?
      Da ist dieser eine Typ, Jose aus Peru. Er ist großartig. Er stammt aus einem Dorf in den Anden und macht rituelle Tänze. Er ist einer von denen, die sich ziemlich anstrengen mussten, um hierher ziehen zu können, aber gleichzeitig jemand, dessen eigene Kultur innerlich tief verwurzelt ist. Er versucht, seine Kultur zu präsentieren, wann immer sich ihm die Möglichkeit dazu bietet—in Schulen und Clubs, auf Bällen—und immer wenn er zurück in sein Dorf kehrt, wird er dort als eine Art mythische Figur begrüßt.

      Was ist mit dem Kerl in dem orangefarbenen Tuch?
      Das ist ein Flüchtling aus Uganda, ein ehemaliger Guerillakrieger, der, aus welchem Grund auch immer, hier gelandet ist. Die ganze Geschichte ist ziemlich traurig. Er sprach kein Wort Englisch und hasste es, hier zu sein. Auf der Suche nach einem Ort, wo ich die Fotos ausstellen kann, landete ich irgendwann beim Bürgermeisteramt. Die Leute dort wollten die Idee eines multikulturellen Londons unterstützen, aber nicht die individuellen Geschichten, die dahinter stehen. Ich meine, ja, London ist „bunt“, aber die damit verbundenen Schicksale sind oft sehr deprimierend. Das offizielle Bild Londons hat nichts mit der Realität zu tun.

       


      EMPFOHLENE ARTIKEL

       

      Die grausigen Toten des Fernando Brito
      Der Fotograf Fernando Brito lichtete in seiner Zeit bei einer mexikanischen Lokalzeitung viele Tote ab. Das Besondere ist, dass seine Bilder trotz des düsteren Hintergrunds eine Art Ruhe vermitteln.
      Greise in Rumänien haben eine Menge Spaß
      Man kann den ganzen Tag Fahrrad fahren, Zauberwürfel lösen und obszöne, sexuelle Gesten mit dem Mund und den Händen machen.
      Charles Cushmans Amerika
      Mehr als 30 Jahre lang hat Charles Cushman sein Leben dokumentiert. Als Archivare auf diese enorme Sammlung stießen, entdeckte man das Werk eines Fotografen mit dem nötigen Fingerspitzengefühl, das meisterhafte Porträts von Amerika und dem Rest der Welt enthielt.

       

      -

      Themen: Daniel Stier, London, Tradionelle Kleidung, Kleidung, Integration

      Kommentare

©2014 VICE Media LLC

    The VICE Channels

      Photographing London's Little Worlds

      October 23, 2012

      Daniel Stier is a German photographer who's been living in London for the last 15 years and still hasn't stopped finding the portly African women in their taffetas fascinating. Inspired by them, he roamed around the city's ex-pat communities, looking for people to take photos of in their country's traditional dress.The end result, In My Country, is a set of striking images of Aztec gods in front of Hackney tower blocks and jewel-adorned, elf-like Balinese women dancing outside of drab coffee shops.   

      Talking to Daniel was kind of disconcerting, making me aware of the fact that I too belong to that cliched breed of foreigner who won't stop yapping on about "back home." So if you're like us (or if you just appreciate really, really good photography) you'll enjoy his photos. Here's what he said when I called him up. 

      VICE: Hey Daniel, how's your day going?

      Daniel Stier:
      Good, I've been doing some research for this still life project I'm working on. It's kind of hard to explain, but I'm basically building these little nature landscapes in my studio out of fake stuff I find, like plastic plants and pots and stuff. 

      Oh, cool. Looking at the rest of your work, I guess it's fair to say you are more of an art photographer. Is that because you prefer coming up with a proper concept for a photo?

      Yeah, I tend to think before I take my photos. I’m not the kind of guy who runs around with a camera all day because I prefer it when someone's really got something to say, rather than, “Oh, I’ll point my camera here and there and then maybe I'll come up with something to explain it." When it comes to art, I want to see the artist taking a clear stance.


      Jose from Peru

      When you're working on portraits, like the ones from In My Country, how do you prepare? How much input do your subjects have?
      
The way each person wants to be photographed is always fairly interesting in itself. I don’t want to have complete control, because people quite often come up with ideas I'd never have thought ofnot that that can't be trying. People always have their own idea of how they'd like to pose, which can be an issue. Like, with In My Country, I tried to photograph people in their authentic environmentstheir street or their house, or somethingand some would say "Oh, it's so ugly here, why don't I stand next to this flower?" But, you know, each side has their own ideas of what a good photograph is. Sometimes we meet in the middle, sometimes we lean to my side and sometimes it doesn't work.  


      So what was the initial idea behind In My Country?

      It has a lot to do with the fact that I'm German but have been living in London for the last 20 years. I love it, but I lack a sense of belonging and I'm interested in that feeling. I didn't have to come hereI'm not a refugeeso I'm not complaining, but what I tried to look at is how people integrate into a place, but don't ever fully become integrated. It's that feeling that makes London what it is; 40 percent of the people who live here weren't born in the UK.  



      I'm assuming that's where the title came from?

      Yeah, everyone I photographed would say stuff like “in my country” or “back home” as if they'd just left, even though they might have been living in London for 30 years. I realized I do the same thing; I've been here for so long that I have no idea what goes on in Germany nowadays, but I still refer to it as "back home."

      And their traditional costumes are the one part of home people can carry with them.

      Yeah, exactly. For example, when you walk around parts of London, like Hackney, on a Sunday morning, you see people going to church all dressed up, and the contrast between that and the surroundings couldn't be more amazing. That's what struck me initially, so I tried to recreate it. It's all set up, but I tried to use that as a symbol for something wider.



      How did you find your subjects?

      Oh, you find everything on the internet these days. Religious groups, churches, mosques, music groups, bands, refugee charitiesevery country looks after their own people, so I'd just contact those organizations. Getting them to agree to be photographed was a little harder because a lot of them deal with immigration issues, so they were suspicious that I was an immigration officer or a policeman.

      Also, a lot of them don't speak a word of English, even after living here for 20 or 30 years. They live within their communitywhere they have everything they needand the younger generation provide contact to the outside world. 



      Did you mostly shoot refugees or people who had chosen to come here? Does that even make a difference to the photograph?
      Everything makes a difference. I guess most Europeans I shot have chosen to be here but there's quite a few refugees, and I find that a little more interesting for the photo. But you know I looked for people who actually dress like that, regardless of their reason for being here, because I was interested in the stories behind the clothes. Some of them are amazing.

      What's your favorite of these stories?
      
There's this one guy, Jose, from Peru, who's amazing. He's from a village in the Andes and does this ritual dance thing. He's one of those people who's made a real effort to settle here, but, at the same time, still has his own culture deeply rooted within him. He tries to showcase his culture every chance he getsat schools and clubs and promsand he's received as a sort of mythical figure when he goes back to his village.



      My favorite's the one of that tiny woman in her apartment.
      
Yeah, she's amazing, too. She's from Vietnam and lives in a project in Hackney. When I first visited her I witnessed this great culture clash. There was a full on East End funeral going on at the bottom of the tower block, with horses and old ladies going "Alright Darling" and all that, then I went up the elevator to her apartment and it was basically a shrine where people go to worship.

      She didn't speak any English, even though she's been here since the 70s, so I didn't completely understand, but I think she belongs to some kind of Vietnamese cult. People bring stuff to her and she blesses itI had to drink a warm beer in the morning because it was blessed. There are these little Vietnamese communities all over London; you walk in and it feels like you're in Saigon.  



      What about the guy in the orange sheet?
      He's a Ugandan refugee who used to fight as a guerrilla warrior and somehow got mixed up in the army, then somehow ended up here. The whole story was extremely sad; he couldn't speak the language, didn't speak to his neighbors and couldn't stand being here.

      

I went to the mayor's office when I tried to find somewhere to exhibit the photos and they're all very up for promoting the idea of a multicultural London, but not the actual stories behind it. I mean, yes, London is "colorful," but the stories that come with that are often very depressing. The official London picture is not like the reality.

      To launch the gallery click here.

      If you're in London, My Country is on show until October 29 at the Stour Space gallery. Admission is free so get off your ass and go have a look.

      Follow Elektra on Twitter:
      @elektrakotsoni

      Want more "colorful" photography?

      Civil War, Cowabunga!

      The Grisly Dead Pictures of Fernando Brito

      Desk Nazis of the World Unite

      -

      Topics: daniel stier, In My Country, photography, fashion, traditional costumes, hackney, London

      Comments