FYI.

This story is over 5 years old.

Head Off To a New Planet and Settle Down in Guerilla Toss's "Grass Shack"

The dirty, grungy, funky baseline paired with Carlson’s vocals will definitely get you in the mood for something out of this world (or just an early Halloween).
February 18, 2016, 4:12pm

Photo by Walter Wlodarczyk

With its funky baseline and gratuitous (but not too much) cowbell with Siouxsie and the Banshees-like vocals, “Grass Shack” — the latest release from Guerilla Toss off their upcoming album Eraser Stargazer — will throw you into a weird, funked-out mood just in time for the sun to shine. It’s spooky and energizing, something straight out of a 70s B-movie space flick a la Barbarella. The intermittent static woven between a tip-toeing keyboard gives you the sense that your ship will be here soon to take you away, X-Files style, and take you to some higher plane of existence.

Advertisement

“There's a distinct difference between falling asleep to the TV blaring in the background or to just an open window,” says says vocalist Kassie Carlson. "Both drown out the silence and certain patterns can be used like counting sheep. A certain type of meditation called a body scan is is something I do a lot. It is the act of assessing every part of your body to bring yourself back to reality. In this way, lacking want and need; just being in the now. Next, starting to assess everything around you. After a few minutes, you're like "Oh right, I'm just a girl in the world" and there's no reason to spiral and stress out so hard. The grass shack is just swaying.”

The dirty, grungy, funky baseline paired with Carlson’s vocals will definitely get you in the mood for something out of this world (or just an early Halloween). Check out the song below, then pre-order their album, out 3/4 on DFA Records, and see if they’re coming to your town soon.

Wed. Feb. 24 - Queens, NY @ Tans-Pecos
Thu. Mar. 3 - Brooklyn, NY @ Baby's All Right
Tue. Mar. 8 - Lakewood, OH @ Mahall's 20 Lanes
Wed. Mar. 9 - Detroit, MI @ Marble Bar w/ Rangda
Thu. Mar. 10 - Chicago, IL @ The Hideout
Fri. Mar. 11 - Nashville, TN @ The End
Sat. Mar. 12 - Atlanta, GA @ 529
Sun. Mar. 13 - Little Rock, AR @ The White Water Tavern
Tue. Mar. 15 - Fri. Mar. 18 - Austin, TX @ SXSW
Sat. Mar. 19 - San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger w/ Protomartyr
Sun. Mar. 20 - Dallas, TX @ Texas Theatre
Mon. Mar. 21 - Hot Springs, AR @ Valley of the Vapors
Tue. Mar. 22 - Louisville, KY @ Kaiju Bar
Wed. Mar. 23 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Roboto
Thu. Mar. 24 - Philadelphia, PA @ Black Box
Sat. May 7 - Winooski, VT @ Waking Windows Music & Art Festival

Annalise Domenighini is boarding the next flight to Mars on Twitter.