This story is over 5 years old.

There's a Strange Beauty in Ash Koosha's New Track "Biutiful"

'Biutiful' is from Ash Koosha's forthcoming LP 'I AKA I' which is out with Ninja Tune on April 1.
March 10, 2016, 10:25pm
Photo by Ozge Cone

Ash Koosha makes heady beats that make you feel hopeful about the future of music. In his second single from his forthcoming LP I AKA I, however, the Tehran-born, London-based producer has outdone himself, bringing an new measure of intimacy and synesthesia to his compositional talent.

"Biutiful" begins with a heavily granulized melodic keyboard line that plays like a decomposed memory. As it progresses, a beat emerges that pushes the track forward in a cluster of anxious bells and sliding synth chords that seem to cry out yearningly, as if Koosha had filtered the Dastgah—the traditional modal structures of Persian music—through various computer programs to compose a ballad for his native Tehran.


I AKA I is out with Ninja Tune on April 1. Koosha has a clutch of appearances planned, include one US show. Check out the tour dates, the tracklist, and stream "Biutiful" below.

Ash Koosha tour dates

March 10 - London, UK - Village Underground w/ !!!
April 1-3 - The Hague, Netherlands - Rewire Festival
May 13 - 15 - Arcosanti, AZ - FORM Festival
June 1 - 5 - Montreal, QC - Mutek Festival

I AKA I tracklist:

1. Ote
2. Feather
3. Eluded
4. In Line
5. Mudafossil
6. Hex
7. Ooh Uhh
8. Biutiful
9. Fool Moon
10. Make it Fast
11. Shah
12. Snow
13. Growl
14. Too Many
15. Needs