This story is over 5 years old.


Kid Koala Announces New Album 'Music To Draw To: Satellite,' Shares Single "The Observable Universe"

The Canadian producer's record comes out Jan. 20 on Arts & Crafts and features Icelandic singer Emilíana Torrini.
Courtesy of VICE Canada

Canadian producer, turntablist, and graphic novelist Kid Koala, aka Eric San, has announced his latest album, Music To Draw To: Satellite.

Out Jan. 20 via Arts & Crafts, the ambient electronic record is described as a "heart-rending tale of discovery and loss through the lens of lovers separated by a one-way space mission to Mars," and features vocals by Icelandic singer [Emilíana Torrini](Emilíana Torrini)[](Emilíana Torrini) on eight tracks.


"Emilíana Torrini is one of my favourite singers in the world. I've been following her work since her first album. She's just got one of those singular voices that has captivated me for years," the Montreal-based artist said in a press release. "Even when she is singing at whisper quiet levels, it's enough to crack your heart open. I'm so honoured to have had the chance to work with her on this record."

He's also announced a series of North American "Satellites" concerts, which will allow audience members to sit at their own turntable stations, and play custom-cut records and effects pedals under the direction of the producer.

Listen to first single "The Observable Universe" and check out a tracklist below.

Music To Draw To: Satellite Tracklist:

1. The Observable Universe
2. Adrift (feat. Emilíana Torrini)
3. Transmission 1
4. Fallaway (feat. Emilíana Torrini)
5. Perihelion
6. Photons
7. Beneath The Heat (featuring Emilíana Torrini)
8. Novachord
9. Transmission 2
10. Collapser (feat. Emilíana Torrini)
11. Transmission 3
12. The Hubble Constant
13. Satellite (feat. Emilíana Torrini)
14. Apoapsis
15. Nightfall
16. The Darkest Day (feat. Emilíana Torrini)
17. Epilogue
18. Nightfall Pale Blue (feat. Emilíana Torrini)

Max Mohenu is on Twitter.