This story is over 5 years old.


Tiësto, Clean Bandit, Aphex Twin, and "Daft Punk" Win Early Grammys

Three distinct artists in the three dance categories on Sunday afternoon.

Clean Bandit in the Grammy Media Center at Staples Center in Los Angeles. (L to R: Jack Patterson, Luke Patterson, Grace Chatto and guest vocalist Jess Glynne)

Sometimes award shows are full of upsets and surprise victories. Not so for the Grammy Awards' pre-telecast of 2015, AKA "The Premiere," during which the three dance music categories performed as expected. Tiësto took home the Best Remixed Recording prize for his mix of John Legend's "All of Me," his first Grammy and second nomination. Clean Bandit, pegged as the second favorite-to-win after Disclosure, walked away with the trophy for Best Dance Recording for "Rather Be." Though he was not in attendance, Aphex Twin's Syro, was awarded the prize for Best Dance/Electronic Album.


Disco legend Gloria Gaynor presented the Record and Album honors. A nominee this year for Best Spoken Word Album, Gaynor is the only recipient of the Grammy for Best Disco Recording, awarded in 1980 for her now-classic tune "I Will Survive." The category was eliminated the following year, but its legacy prevails in the trophy Clean Bandit takes home this year.

In their acceptance speech, the group's Grace Chatto acknowledged fellow nominees, including friends Disclosure and influencers Basement Jaxx.  Nominated for the Mary J. Blige-featuring "F For You," Disclosure was expected to win by some, even by eventual winners Clean Bandit themselves. Jimmy Napes, a collaborator on Disclosure's Settle and co-writer of Song of the Year-nominated "Stay With Me," also worked on "Rather Be," a contribution Chatto also acknowledged.

Strong radio support for "Rather Be" and the song's year-long trend into ubiquity are to thank for its eventual victory. Tiësto can also thank airplay for his trophy. His version of "All of Me" was a Top 40 mainstay throughout 2014 and even though there were outside chances that young guns Audien or Robin Schulz could edge out a victory, the DJ icon ultimately prevailed.

Winners of top honors in 2014, Daft Punk were also honored on Sunday afternoon. Rather, "Daft Punk," an a capella mash-up of the robot duo's hits by Pentatonix, was honored with the trophy for Best Arrangement, Instrumental or A Cappella, a first for the non-instrumental group and electronic music enthusiasts.

More awards, including Best New Artist, expected to go to "Latch" singer Sam Smith, will be revealed this evening during the primetime Grammy broadcast.

Zel McCarthy is THUMP's Editor in Chief.