Music by VICE

Crackboy Shares an Uneasily Euphoric Contribution to Joakim's New Label Compilation

This previously vinyl-only track will appear on 'Crowdspacer Volume 1' next month.

by Alexander Iadarola
Jan 18 2016, 9:30pm

Photo courtesy of Crackboy

Back in 2013, French-born, NYC-based producer Joakim founded the label Crowdspacer, named after American dancer and choreographer Merce Cunningham's 1993 performance piece "CRWDSPCR."

So far the label's put out a dozen vinyl-only releases by the likes of Everyone (Joakim in collaboration with Kindness and V. L'Traques, a.k.a. Jam City), Full Circle (Alexis Le Tan, Joakim, and Ill Studio), and Keita Sano.

Next month, the label will release its first digital compilation, entitled Crowdspacer Volume 1, featuring previously-released tracks alongside fresh new material by Cray76, JHACK (Bryce Hackford and Joakim), and more. Today we're premiering French producer Crackboy's "The Dirt (House Of Love Mix)," taken from his 2014 release Volume 1.

It's an uneasy number, caked in grit and lead by the pace of wearily ricocheting percussion—it feels like it wants to get euphoric and let loose but can't totally. "When it rains on us the dirt don't go away, so this track is here to help clean our sins, or to do some E or whatever," the artist told THUMP via email.

Stream the track below, see the compilation's tracklist after the jump along with a video for the release, and be sure to pick it up when it's out February 15.


01. No Time To Waste (Vocal Version) – Everyone
02. R-type III – POV
03. Servant – Cray76
04. Submission – Full Circle
05. Amazone – JHACK
06. Weapon (dub) – Crackboy
07. Burning Inside (Unreleased Mix) – Cray76
08. ADAT – POV
09. Kung Fu Dog Pt 2 – Keita Sano
10. Generator2 – Yes Wizard
11. The Dirt (House Of Love Mix) – Crackboy
12. Merce – Cray76

Follow Alexander on Twitter.

Jam City
Full Circle
bryce hackford
keita sano