Here's a Sneak Peak at Jamie xx's Guest Spot on Anna Lunoe's Beats 1 Show Tonight

The UK producer explains his rave fascination and spins his favorite tracks of the moment.

|
Oct 16 2015, 3:15pm

News just in: this week's "Guest Selecta" on Anna Lunoe's Beats 1 show, which airs tonight at 9PM PST/12AM EST, will be none other than the indie music world's favorite rave nostalgist, Jamie xx, fresh off a Mercury Prize nomination for his critically divisive but immensely popular album, In Colour. (He'll be competing with Aphex Twin's Syro and Florence and the Machine's How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful, among others.)

During the interview, Anna asks Jamie about his fascination with rave culture from decades past. For some, his response will shed some light on the record he made about it: Jamie admits he first fell in love with a romanticized idea of what raving means, more so than raving itself.

"[Rave culture] was around me a lot growing up, although I didn't go to raves until I was a bit older," he tells Anna. "Garage was in the charts, on mainstream radio. I was surrounded by it at a very young age, and sort of fell in love with it—the idea of it—because I was obviously too young to go to the clubs."

Anna also asks him about the first dance record that captured his imagination, and Jamie's response is aww-inducingly cute: "I was 11. My best friend at the time gave me a 12" because I just got a turntable, and it was "Body Groove" by Architechs, which is a garage tune [...] I still have that record and I still play it out!" Later on, Jamie XX also spins his favorite dance tracks of the moment. Listen to a preview of his segment below:

Elsewhere on the show, Anna has a grip of premieres for your ears from HARD head honcho Destructo, NYC songstress DUCKY, trap experimentalist KRNE, and bass basher ETC!ETC!, who will all be dropping new tunes.

There's also two other Beats 1 shows worth tuning into for the evening. On the earlier side, at 3PM PST/6PM EST, Major Lazer's Lazer Sound will return to Beats for the second time to drop their new theme song "The Sound," and play a few live sets from Burning Man. On the late-night shift, at 11PM PST/2AM EST, Hardwell will take over One Mix with a special one-hour mix.

If you're looking to turn down tonight and rave in your bed—or have some tunes while pre-gaming to go out—this is it.

Stories